Governors Meeting Dates 2016-2017

Minutes of governors' meetings are available on request

A welcome from our Chair of Governors, Mr Paul Day:

The Governors of Woodside C of E Primary School play an important role and are fully involved in the life of the school, helping to set the school's vision and aims and ensuring accountability.  Our Governors are a committed group of elected and co-opted volunteers who help the school provide the best possible education for its pupils.

Staff and governors to work together to improve all aspects of the school and its life.
To this end all parties must use their strengths and talents for the overall good of the school and work as a team.

Any school can only be a real success if it has the support of the community, and in our case that means Staff, Pupils, Parents, Governors and the wider community as a whole. I urge you to support both your children in their work, and the school in its endeavours to make Woodside C of E Primary School an even better place to be.

School Governing Bodies have a major responsibility for helping children to succeed, and have a legal duty to promote high standards.
School Governors make a real difference by working in partnership with the school staff and community to promote the best possible education for all pupils, including the most vulnerable. 

At Woodside C of E Primary School the Governors have a clear vision, and are focused on continuous improvement. We have high aspirations for the school, and are committed to providing a high quality learning environment which encourages achievement,and ensures the best possible life chances for every one of our pupils.

Governor Information



Term of office expiry date

Mrs E Bennett


8th June 2020

Rev R Chamberlain



Mr Paul Day

Chair and community

5th Feb 2018

Mr Wayne Grills

Vice chair and community

12th Feb 2019

Mr Paul Lavender


31st August 2017

Mrs Dawn McCarthy Dyson


March 2021

Miss Lucy Newman


12th Feb 2019

Mr Roger Sandland

Local Authority

November 2020

Mrs Awen Simpson



Mrs Annette Sweet


24th July 2017

Mr J Unsworth


31st August 2017

Mrs Nicola Vella


10th March 2018

Mrs Helen Watts


16th Sept 2019

Mrs Heidi King

Clerk to the governors



Governors Register of Interests 2015-2016

Governors Register of Interests 2016-2017



                                                                                                                                               The Polesworth School.